2010 World Vaccines Congress hands out awards

The 2010 World Vaccines Congress met last week just outside Washington D.C., with attendees discussing the latest news in the vaccine world.

The conference also honored several members of the vaccine awards with its ViE Awards, which recognize the outstanding achievement of vaccine practitioners and stakeholders worldwide.

Wayne Pisano, the CEO of Sanfi Pasteur, was honored as the top pharm exec. of the year over the likes of GSK's Biologicals' Jean Stephenne, Novartis' Andrin Oswald and Pfizer's Geno Germano.

The award for best CRO went to Accelovance, a repeat winner that recently added new team members as a result of continued growth. Accelovance bested a number of top contenders, including Covance and PPD.

Christine Dingivan, the CMO of PPD, told FierceVaccines that PPD remains unique among CROs for its work with governments in Africa, South East Asia and Latin America. PPD recently launched a first-in-kind comprehensive network of integrated, world class laboratory services called the Vaccines & Biologics Center of Excellence, which will focus on vaccine and biologic drug development. PPD also announced this week that it has invested $5 million in a round backing Liquidia Technologies to fund the development of a new vaccine delivery technology.

Baxter was named best CMO by the conference, with Merck and Wellcome Trust name the best vaccine partnership, alliance or license. Inovio was honored in the best early stage vaccine biotech category with Novartis winning for best vaccine research and development pipeline.

Gerd Zettlmeissl of Intercell was named best biotech CEO while Dendreon's Provenge took home the award for best therapeutic vaccine in development. GSK Biological's Synflorix was also honored, winning the best prophylactic vaccine award.